Just another WordPress.com weblog

Start your engines!

“I am confident of this, that the one who began a good work among you will bring it to completion by the day of Jesus Christ.” Philippians 1:6

I have a tape that I listen to as I’m walking on the treadmill at the gym with one of the songs based on this scripture passage. Actually, the song comes at the end of the tape, and it is well placed since I need to remember that all my sweat and hard work will one day produce good results and bring me to my goal of weight loss and a healthy life style. But there are days when I really don’t want to go to the gym. I have to talk to myself, make sure I have time in my schedule, and put forth a lot of effort to get there. As it is, I often don’t manage to go more than twice a week, which leaves me “on my own” at home. That’s when I’m distracted by housework, the computer, phone calls, or other work that has to be done, so it is easy to put the exercise on the back burner.

But when I read this verse, I have to stop and think about how God is ALREADY at work in me. God has already BEGUN the good work in me, but it is my responsibility to follow through, knowing that God wants me to be healthy and be a good steward of my body, mind, and spirit. If we think about it, we need to ask ourselves the question, “What has God already started in my life?” “What has God already started in our church?” “What do we need to bring to completion or at least move forward with in our lives – our church life?” God has already started. Now it’s our turn to partner with God to make it happen.

HMMMM. That means we have some responsibility in our faith journey! For me that puts a whole new spin on it. I don’t want to let God down, so maybe I need to be just a little more diligent in whatever it is that I choose to do that will make my life and the lives of others better. God has already started! Let’s grab God’s “hand” and figure out where it will lead us! Have a blessed week, and remember that God and your companions in Christ are with you on this journey!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

